His Might – Not Mine!

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.” Ephesians 6.10

This is one of those “I really need this” verses for me. I suspect this is true for some others reading these words. In vs. 1 – 9 Paul has given some necessary instructions to children, to fathers, and to servants. And then he says, “Finally my brethren… ” This is the summary of what he has already said.

“ … be strong in the Lord … ” What great words of encouragement. The Lord is EVERYTHING we need. Whether I am a child, a parent, or a servant, the Lord is all I need. Fretting and worrying seems to have become a way of life for some. How about we exchange our fretting and our worrying for God’s strength? In Psalm 37.1 we read: “Fret not thyself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity.” And then in vs. 40 we read: “the LORD shall help them, and deliver them: he shall deliver them from the wicked, and save them, because they trust in him.”

God really is “ … my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.” (Psalm 91.2)

Be strong … in the power of His might.” Omnipotence is probably not one of God’s attributes that we think about every day, but we certainly need to remember “His might.” Remember, it is His might that can and does defeat Satan. 1 Peter 5.8-9a remind us to “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: 9Whom resist stedfast in the faith … ” Why should we ever attempt to fight Satan in our own strength when the power of God’s might is extended to us?

Every morning when I get up, I take a handful of pills to take care of some health issues I have. This verse is one of the spiritual tablets I need to take to heart every day. Why don’t you try it? Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

