It Really Is That Simple!

And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.” John 6.35

In the physical realm, there are two things that every person needs. Those are something to eat and something to drink. We live in a world where many people are dying for lack of those two things.

In the spiritual realm, man’s need for these two things is equally true and Jesus addresses them both in this verse. Two amazing things have already happened in the earlier parts of this chapter. Jesus had fed 5,000 men (not including women and children) with five (5) loaves of bread and two (2) small fish. Following that amazing miracle, the disciples were attempting to go across the Sea of Galilee to Capernaum. A storm arose and the disciples were afraid. Suddenly they see someone walking ON the water and they were more afraid. It was Jesus and He said to them, “It is I. Be not afraid.”

Then a few verses later in the chapter, Jesus utters these words: “Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life … ” The Jewish leaders tried to minimize the impact of these words by saying, “Isn’t this Joseph’s son?” They did not want to acknowledge the truthfulness of Jesus’ words: “I am the bread of life.” He was offering the people something these religious leaders could not give them. NO OTHER man can give you what God alone can give you.

Look now at these next works in the verse: “ … he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.” Do you see it? Jesus was offering them and us something that would last for eternity. It REALLY is that simple. A little later Jesus says, “All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.” I don’t know about you, but I want EVERYTHING Jesus has to offer me. Simple? Yes! Easy? Yes! Debatable? No! It simply requires faith in what Jesus has promised! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

