Interesting Word – Therefore

I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications. 2 Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.” Psalm 116.1-2

I love the LORD, because … ” How would you finish the sentence? Because (1) He gives me everything I want; (2) He keeps food in the house; (3) He pays my bills … you get the idea. How about “I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.” I can’t think of ANYTHING more refreshing and rewarding than this heart-calming truth. He hears MY voice and YOUR voice when we pray. He hears us when we cry out to Him in supplication. What is supplication? It is an appeal made to somebody in authority and there is no GREATER authority than our Heavenly Father.

Can you picture this in your mind: “ … he hath inclined his ear unto me … ” The picture that comes to my mind is one of a loving person bending an ear toward someone they love, wanting to hear every word they say. If that picture is accurate (and to me it is), I am overwhelmed to think that every time I speak His name I have His ear.

therefore … ” Remember, always see what it is there for? Any one who loves me enough to hear my voice and my supplications and to incline His ear to me wants something from me in return. What is that something? “ … therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.” Let me meddle for just a moment. When did you call on Him last? Was there any worship of Him in that prayer? Was there confession of sin in that prayer? Was there any thanksgiving in that prayer? Or was it all asking and hoping to receive? To be honest, I ask God for a lot. But in doing so, I want Him to know that I REALLY worship Him for who He is, not for what He does. Confession of sin is NOT easy but it is a NECESSARY part of our regular prayer life. Thanksgiving should be a given for all of us. Then supplication fits where it ought to go – at the end of my prayer. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

