I Can – But Only in Him

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” John 16.33

What does the term “overcomer” say to you? I think of someone who has been through a great deal of trials and they have been able to overcome them and not let their trials define them.

When Jesus speaks to us in this verse, He mentions several things that demand our attention: (1) He wants us to have peace; (2) we are going to have tribulation as long as we live down here on this earth; (3) the good news is that He has overcome the world.

Peace is not the ABSENCE of trials, but it is the calm spirit that God gives us as He walks through those trials with us. Jesus is reminding His followers of something He has already told them. How many times must He do that with us, too?

Tribulation can take many forms in our lives. It can be health issues, financial woes, family issues, job loss, etc. We could probably make a much longer list. But if we pay attention to what Jesus is saying here, we know that at some point in life, we WILL experience tribulation.

If we didn’t know better we would think that Jesus is speaking in a figurative sense here when He says, “ … be of good cheer … ” But this is NOT figurative language. It is quite the contrary. Jesus is reminding us that we have EVERY REASON to be of good cheer. And what is that reason?

I have overcome the world.” We don’t have to overcome the world in our own meager strength. Jesus has already overcome the world FOR US. I wonder sometimes when I allow myself to be defeated by a circumstance that God allowed to come into my life. I immediately try to figure out a way that I can fix it. How foolish of me. Jesus, my Redeemer, my constant Companion, and my Overcomer, has ALREADY overcome the world – including the thing that is troubling me at that moment. I want to spend time with this Overcomer so that I can be victorious in HIS strength – and not my own. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

