Which Way Are You Looking?

Mine eyes are ever toward the LORD; for he shall pluck my feet out of the net.” Psalm 25.15

The object of my affection determines my direction. If I am obsessed with what this world has to offer and I expect this sin sick world to give me the happiness and peace for which I long, then the first time I find NO satisfaction in what the world offers, I will look for something or someone to fill the vacuum.

I believe David had already discovered that the Object of his affection was already determining his direction. In 1 Samuel 16.12 Samuel had already looked at the older sons of Jesse and did not see the one to whom God had sent him. When David comes in from the field where he had been tending the sheep, God said to Samuel, “Arise, anoint him: for this is he.” Samuel immediately anointed David as the next king of Israel.

Now David could say with surety, “Mine eyes are ever toward the Lord … ” Did David always do everything right? Certainly not. He was an adulterer, a murderer, a liar, and much more. But God said that David was a man after God’s heart. You say, “How could that be true? He did things I would never THINK of doing.”

Here’s the answer: “ … for he shall pluck my feet out of the net.” When David found himself in a “tight place,” he knew where to look. Do you? David’s life, once he became king, led him into some tight places – some because of the actions of others and some because of his own actions. But when God spoke, David listened. When we read Psalm 51, we see David’s heart toward God. There was confession and repentance on his part.

So, when push comes to shove, are your eyes “are ever toward the LORD?” If not, why not? If we want God to “pluck (our) feet out of the net,” we need to have our eyes “ever toward the Lord.” Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

