Right Is Right – No Matter What!

For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.” Galatians 1.10

We have all heard the phrase, “He’s just a people pleaser.” There are some adults who spend their entire lives trying to please other people – and some of them may be deceased. There is nothing wrong with being a pleasant person and have other people enjoy being around you. But, as Christ followers, we often find ourselves at odds with the unsaved and many times with other believers.

So, let’s look at Paul’s words here to the Galatian believers: “For do I now persuade men, or God?” Paul is addressing an issue the believers here are facing. He says in v. 9: “But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.” Wow – pretty strong words! But the Galatians had heard some “other gospel” and they were confused. Do you see the significance of Paul’s words here? “ … do I seek to please men?” He says, “I am not telling you what you want to hear just so you will like me. I am telling you the truth because I must remain true to God.”

Here is the home run statement: “for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.” Some may be saying about now, “Well, that’s just the way Paul was – running over every body and not caring how they felt about it. I’m just not like that.” You know what? I’m not either, but I am going to do my best, under the Holy Spirit’s power, to always tell others what God wants them to hear – not to hurt them, but to be true to the God who saved me. I can do no less! Just my thoughts …

One thought on “Right Is Right – No Matter What!

  1. This is a great write! It is hard to share the truth without being shunned. Sometimes when we share the truth, when we find the Holy Spirit leading us and guiding us to all truth instead of what’s popular, keeping us from lowering the bar from the world around us it can make us very unpopular in turn. I’ve learned to see the thinning out in the face of truth and rigtheousness as the rooting up and tearing down of the unpure things and I trust God to do the drawing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

