Something to Think About!

On the next day much people that were come to the feast, when they heard that Jesus was coming to Jerusalem, (13) Took branches of palm trees, and went forth to meet Him, and cried, Hosanna: Blessed is the King of Israel that cometh in the name of the Lord.” John 12.12-13

Most of us know what a “fickle crowd” is. They act one was at one moment, and then do the exact opposite the next moment. The “much people” mentioned in the verse above would certainly fit the mold of a “fickle crowd.” On Sunday – Palm Sunday, named for the branches of palm trees that were used to welcome Jesus to Jerusalem – shouted His praise on Sunday, but on the next Wednesday they shouted “Crucify Him” (John 19.6). That is a dramatic change if I have ever seen one.

I would quickly acknowledge that the religious leaders of Jesus’ day were the ones responsible for calling for His crucifixion. They were the ones who worked the crowd up into a frenzy. Look at their praise: “Hosanna: Blessed is the King of Israel that cometh in the name of the Lord.” Here they were recognizing that Jesus really was the King of the Jews. He was who Pilate said He was: “king of the Jews”. (John 18.33)

Let’s step away for a moment from this scene over 2000 years ago and ask ourselves this question: “How do I treat Jesus in my daily life? Do I live as though He is REALLY the king of my life?” There is a great old hymn whose words to the first verse and chorus go like this:

King of my life, I crown Thee now,

Thine shall the glory be;

Lest I forget Thy thorn-crowned brow,

Lead me to Calvary

Lest I forget Gethsemane;

Lest I forget Thine agony;

Lest I forget thy love for me,

Lead me to Calvary.

What needs to change in your life and mine before He actually becomes the king of our lives? Could it be absolute surrender to His ultimate and absolute lordship in our lives? Something to think about! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

