It Is ALL of Him and NONE of Me!

But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by His Spirit that dwelleth in you.” Romans 8.11

The life-encouraging promise contained in this verse gives every Christ-follower a renewed hope that there is something more beyond the grave. This morning I visited a local hospital and talked to patients who are battling cancer. Every one with whom I spoke had hope for a cure. As I prayed with them, I was reminded that one day we will take our last breath down here and wake up in heaven to spend eternity with the One who redeemed us.

Take time to see what these words are saying: “But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you …” Do you grasp the significance of these words? The VERY SAME Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you and me, if we have been born again. This is not pie-in-the-sky theology that has no meaning. This is God’s declared truth that gives us HOPE beyond this life.

So what is the value and purpose of this Spirit living within us? “ … he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies … ” The Holy Spirit was not given only to minister to Jesus at His resurrection. He is also OUR Spirit and He will minister to us and for us once we are through with this life. The clincher lies in the final phrase of this verse: He will “quicken your mortal bodies by His Spirit that dwelleth in you.” My heart sings for joy when I realize that my hope is not based on anything I have ever done or will do, but solely on this promise of God – if I die, I WILL rise again. Those of us who have stood beside an open grave and had a loved planted in the ground have great cause for rejoicing. And the words of this verse make that rejoicing real. Just my thoughts …

 

Leave a Reply

