Let’s Choose Hope!

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” Jeremiah 29.11

Someone said to me rather recently, “Did it ever occur to you that nothing occurs to God?” That is just a catchy way to say that God is omniscient – He knows EVERYTHING. So, when I read this verse in Jeremiah, it simply reminds me again that God’s plan for me is already in place.

Another translation reads: “For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” If I can remember that the Lord ALWAYS my best interests at heart, and if I can view each event in my life with this knowledge, then I will not get angry with God. Rather I will desire to see the events of my life through His eyes.

God HAS plans, and those plans are for my “wholeness.” God wants me to live a complete life that lacks nothing and finds its fulness in Him. When “evil” does come into our lives and we have done nothing to cause it, it must first pass through my Father’s hand in order to get to me. He does not MAKE evil things happen, but He must allow them or Satan can have no access to us (think of Job and his experiences).

God desires to “to give (us) a future and a hope.” Realizing how important hope is to us, God wants us to maintain hope daily. When I MAKE Him my hope, my whole perspective of life changes. I see life differently; I see events in my life differently. I see my life challenges differently. And all of this comes because the One who is the OBJECT of my hope. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

