What Are You Hiding?

Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against thee.” Psalm 119.11

Frequently I heard Christians say something like this: “I just can’t memorize scripture. It’s just too hard for me.” And some people think because they are getting older, it gets harder. Let me ask you a question. Do you know your cell phone number? Has it ever changed? Did you remember the old one as well as the new one? Memorizing is simply a matter if discipline. If I want to do something badly enough, I will find a way to make it happen.

The psalmist wrote, “Thy word have I hid in my heart … ” What does that mean? Obviously there is some special significance to “hiding” God’s Word in our hearts. This is speaking about the part of us that makes decisions and provides guidance for our lives. You may have said something like this before: “I love you with all of my HEART.” You weren’t talking about your blood pump. You were talking about that part of you that has passion and deep feeling.

Hiding, in the sense that it is used here, does not mean that we can never find what we have hidden. But rather putting something in a place that we can access when we need it. We don’t always have a Bible with us, even if we have it on our mobile device. So, if it is hidden in our hearts, when we need it, the Holy Spirit can access it and bring it to our memory.

Now this last phrase gives us the significant reason to do this: “that I might not sin against thee.” I don’t know of any Christ follower who intentionally sets out to sin against God. But there are times when temptation comes and it seems like a pretty good idea. But if I have hidden God’s Word in my heart, then I have the resource I need with me. The Holy Spirit can retrieve the scripture I need to stop me from yielding to the temptation. If you have NEVER tried to memorize God’s Word, I challenge you to begin now to prepare yourself for a battle with Satan. You WILL need it. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

