A Mother’s Prayer

Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised. 31 Give her of the fruit of her hands: and let her own works praise her in the gates.” Proverbs 31.30-31

There are so many ways to give mothers special recognition. Solomon speaks specifically in these words: “a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.” In the Summer of 1951 my mother was taken from this life to be with her Heavenly Father. I was 11 years old. To speak of all the qualities my mother possessed would fill many pages, but this I remember, she feared the Lord.

In my early school years, we lived in a trailer park (a mobile home). It was nothing like the roomy mobile homes we see today. Instead it was very small. I remember coming in from the outside one night where I had been playing, and my mother was on her knees beside the sofa praying. I remember hearing her say, “And Lord, let my son be a preacher boy.” I never forgot hearing those words fall from her lips.

At age 17, I attended a Summer Teen Camp at Lake St. Marys, OH. On the last night of camp, Dr. Charles Billington was preaching. I don’t remember his topic, but I do remember hearing God say, “Jerry, I want you to serve me.” I came home from camp and told my boss that I was going to go to Bible College that fall. He said, “I knew I shouldn’t have let you off to go to that camp.”

To make a long story short, I attended Baptist Bible College in Springfield, MO and graduated in 1960. For 19 years I served in three different churches in one capacity or another, but not a senior pastor. In December of 1979 I accepted the pastorate of Calvary Baptist Church in Rittman, OH and I served there for 32 years. God answered the prayer of a godly mother. It was my mother who prayed but it was God who called. I have never regretted a day of the ministry God has given me. Thank you, Mom. I love you! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

