How Big Is Your Spider?

Then spake Jesus again unto them saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.” John 8.12

When I was a kid, I was afraid of the dark. One night I was in my bed trying to go to sleep, and the moon was shining through my window. On the screen in my window there was a spider. He wasn’t very big, but when the moon cast his shadow on my bedroom wall, man it looked big. I was one scared kid.

This conversation was between Jesus and the crowd who had brought to Him “this woman (who) was taken in adultery, in the very act.” (John 8.4) While Jesus was writing with His finger on the ground, the accusers walked away one by one. This is what He wrote: “He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.” (John 8.7) I have often wondered what He wrote. Perhaps it was some names of those in the crowd who had cast her at Jesus’ feet. Whatever it was, it was enough to drive them away.

Then Jesus spoke to those still there, especially to this shame-filled woman. “I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.” All this woman had ever known was a life filled with darkness. Before we come to Christ, all WE ever know is a life filled with darkness. “But when Jesus comes, the tempter’s power is broken. When Jesus comes, the tears are wiped away. He takes the gloom and fills the life with glory. For all is changed when Jesus comes to stay.” (Oswald J. Smith)

This woman now knew the power of cancelled sin. Jesus said to her, “Go and sin no more.” This doesn’t mean that she was to live a perfect life, but rather He told her to leave her life of sin behind her and don’t ever go back to it. Isn’t that what He calls us to when we get saved? “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” (2 Corinthians 5.17) Something to ponder on this day. Just my thoughts …

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

