Where Do We Find Undying Truth?

For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.” Psalm 100.5

Not very many things that we purchase or use in everyday life last very long. So when we discover something that “endureth to all generations” I think it is time to pay attention.

Look at the major premise of this verse: “For the LORD is good”. This is not just a major premise of this verse; it is the theme of the Word of God. We read in Psalm 73.1: “Truly God is good to Israel, even to such as are of a clean heart.” If we stopped with “Truly God … ” we would do the verse no injustice. It is sad to me that so many people, including some Christians, have in their minds the thought that it is possible for God to make a mistake, or inflict evil on them. As God’s child, I remind myself every morning that God has my best interests at heart for the day that lies ahead of me.

Not only is the Lord good, but “his mercy is everlasting”. I don’t know about you, but that is a great encouragement to me. God just keeps on “not giving me what I deserve” (that is the meaning of mercy). If we are willing to put these two phrases together, we can be blessed by knowing that God is good and His mercy will ever end.

Now here is the foundational statement in this verse: “and his truth endureth to all generations.” Men have been trying to discredit the truth of God’s Word since Genesis 3. James Clear states: “it is worth noting that some religious and political books such as The Bible, Quran, and Quotations from Chairman Mao are believed to have more than a billion copies each in existence.” The first book in the list is The Bible. His truth endures to all generations. When I pick up the Bible to read, I am quickly reminded that the truths in this book are timeless, meaning they are as true today as they were the day they were written. If God says it, that should settle it for His followers. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

