Whose Voice Do You Hear?

Thus saith the LORD the maker thereof, the Lord that formed it, to establish it; the LORD is his name; 3 Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not. ” Jeremiah 33.2-3

It is crucial that we understand who is speaking here to Jeremiah: “Thus saith the Lord … ” When he realizes this, Jeremiah knows immediately the Lord is speaking to him. Do you recognize when it is the Lord who is speaking to you? You might ask, “How can I know the difference?” Satan will offer you something that may sound good, but it is really a counterfeit for what God really wants for you. I read some years ago this quote: “The good can become the enemy of the best.” (Source unknown) In the previous chapter Jeremiah heard the Lord say: “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh: is there anything too hard for me?

What is God saying to his servant here? “Call unto me, and I will answer thee … ” You may be saying, “I talk to the Lord all the time and He never does answer me.” Let me ask you a simple question … do you want to follow God with all your heart, or do you want the Lord to actually fall in line behind you and follow you and do everything you ask? Mark it down; His will and my will don’t always coincide. I want to totally submit to God so that MY will becomes SUBSERVIENT to His will. If we want God to show us great and mighty things, we must acknowledge that He IS Lord of our lives and we are prepared to TRUST Him, no matter what the next step is.

Most of us have heard the little expression: “God said it, I believe it, and that settles it for me.” IF God SAID it, and we BELIEVE it, that most certainly should SETTLE it for us – no questions asked. Just my thoughts …

 

Leave a Reply

