That’s Impossible!

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13.2

This chapter deals very extensively with love – not the warm fuzzies, but a love that says, “No matter what you do to me, I will seek nothing but your highest good.” Paul contrasts several “gifts” and says that all of them mean nothing, if I am unwilling to love others with this genuine agape love.

I am constantly amazed by people who classify themselves as “spiritual” because they read the Bible, but they only use their “knowledge” to judge others or put them down, or whatever they fell like doing on that particular day. God does not judge me by how much of the Bible I have read or committed to memory. He wants to know if I have followed His commandments. Jesus told His followers, “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. 35 By this shall men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” (John 13.34-35)

The ability to look into the Bible and see someone else’s flaws seems a lot more satisfying that looking into the Bible to see my own flaws and the ways that I am failing God. Write this one down: “If I am not loving other believers, I am in direct disobedience to what Jesus said and what the Apostle said.” I can hear the naysayers now, “You don’t know what they DID to me” or “if that’s the way Christians are supposed to act, just cunt me out.”

Let’s go back to what Paul said: “and though I have all faith so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.” It doesn’t matter what I PRETEND to be God knows my heart. Dear friend, ask God to place within your bosom a love that transcends the wrongs of others and makes you a better representative for Him today. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

