Guess Who Is Watching!

For the ways of man are before the eyes of the LORD, and he pondereth all his goings.” Proverbs 5.21

I remember when I was a kid and we played hide and seek, when it was my time to hide, I would look all around to be sure nobody saw where I was hiding. I believe that is true also of some who follow Christ. We look to the right, to the left, to the rear, and one more time to the front, thinking no one sees what we are doing. But we forgot one thing – to look up.

Solomon puts in like this: “For the ways of man are before the eyes of the Lord … ” We need to transfer our head knowledge, that says we know God is watching, to the heart so that we LIVE like God is watching. It seems that there are so many times and so many ways that the Scriptures remind us that God is watching. But still there are times when we live in such a way that we hope “God doesn’t this”! My question for each of us is this … why do we choose to argue with God, either in our hearts or in our actions, when we already know the words of Psalm 18.30: “As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.

Here is another interesting truth: “he (God) pondereth all his (man’s) goings.” Do we realize how significant we are to God? He “ponders” our goings. He takes time to think about where I am going and whether or not He needs to intervene. If it means that much to God to ponder over what I am doing and where I am going, then I must take into account the truth that God is watching and some day I will answer for the wrong choices that I could have avoided if only I had realized that my ways “are before the eyes of the Lord … ” Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

