When We Know – We Know!

13Hereby know we that we dwell in him, and he in us, because he hath given us of his Spirit. 14And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Savior of the world. 15Whsooever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God. ” 1 John 4.13-15

When John uses the word “Hereby …” he is saying, “This is how we know …” How do we KNOW that we dwell in God? The first and most obvious one is that God has given us His Spirit – the Holy Spirit. One who is a true believer will never have to wonder if the Spirit of God dwells in him. There may be some question as to how we respond to this Holy Spirit.

It seems to me that this theme keeps popping up in the verses I use for this blog. It is not intentional on my part, but it is intentional on God’s part. The question is never whether or not we FEEL the Holy Spirit’s presence. The question, as least for me, is am I willing to give him absolute control of my day for today and for all if my days. If the answer is anything else but yes, we say to the God of heaven, “I don’t need your Spirit. I ‘ve got my life under control.”

John establishes an irrefutable fact: “14And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Savior of the world.” As a believer we would readily admit to that. Now John gets down to where the rubber meets the road: “15Whsooever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God.” Can we agree that John is speaking to us about being public with our testimony? “CONFESS that Jesus is the Son of God.” How long has it been for any of us to make a public declaration that Jesus is God’s Son and He is our Savior? Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

