Where Doe YOUR Contentment Lie?

Better is little with the fear of the LORD than great treasure and trouble therewith.” Proverbs 15.16

What is your great pursuit in this life? Is it the accumulation of “stuff”, or piling up a lot of money, or achieving a position of power so you can tell other people what to do? You may be saying to yourself, “None of those things has ever become my goal in life.” If such is the case, then I say Praise the Lord. But there IS something for which you have a deep longing.

Let me pose the question like this … is your daily pursuit in life “the fear of the LORD”? The man who penned these words certainly one who had “great treasure”. Anything Solomon wanted he got. So what is the point of this verse? When a man of Solomon’s caliber makes a dramatic statement like this, I am interested in his “why”. In verse 3 he said: “The eyes of the LORD are in every place, beholding the evil and the good.

Perhaps we should determine what it is to fear the Lord. The phrase “fear the Lord” may conjure up a myriad of thoughts for you. To fear the Lord is to stand in awe of who He is. We just returned from a vacation that included 2 trips to see the Grand Canyon. It is impossible to wrap your head the inherent beauty of what God has created there. Not only do I stand in awe of that indescribable work of God’s had, but I stand in awe of the God who created it. Solomon declares: “Better is little with the fear of the Lord … ” If I am able to “fear the Lord,” then it doesn’t really matter what else I have or don’t have in this life.

I am sure the conclusion of this verse is a reflection of some of Solomon’s life experiences: “ … than great treasure and trouble therewith.” When one is able to accumulate “great treasure,” it won’t be long before someone wants you to give him or her some of your “great treasure.” I have seen enough winners of state lotteries to know that “easy come – easy go” is true. I want to be able to say with Solomon, “Better is little with the fear of the LORD than great treasure and trouble therewith.” I want to be able to find my “contentment” in Him and Him alone. Nothing else in life really matters. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

