Do Our Walk and Our Talk Match?

The just man walketh in his integrity: his children are blessed after him.” Proverbs 20.7

In the world of politics many public servants are concerned about the legacy they will leave behind as a result of their time in a public office. But I wonder if we who are believers are concerned about the legacy we will leave behind as a result of being a part of the kingdom of God.

Solomon speaks here about “The just man … “ That is a reference to the lifestyle we choose to live. This reference is to a father and his children, but I believe we can make a broader application without doing injustice to this verse. Would you agree that none of us knows who is watching us and/or attempting to model the life that we are living? We don’t live on an island where we are the only person there. We live in the midst of a culture where “the just man” is the exception and not the rule.

What does it mean to walk in integrity? Reputation is what people THINK we are. Integrity is what we are in the dark when no one is watching. I want my life to be one of integrity. Does that mean I have not made mistakes? Absolutely not! Does that mean I will not make misstates in the future? Absolutely not! But what it does mean is that I want my attitude, my purpose, and my behavior each day to be above reproach.

“ … his children are blessed after him.” You and I know that when our children reach a certain age they want to begin making their own decisions, and that is as it should be. Solomon’s conclusion here is that when children have a father who is a man of integrity, and they choose to identify with his integrity, they will be blessed. As God’s children, we are called upon to know what our Heavenly Father says (as in read the Book), and then to live a life that God will choose to bless. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

