The Great Acceptance!

All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.” John 6.37

Those of us who have already come to Christ for salvation realize the truth of this first statement. The Father’s desire is for all men to be saved (2 Peter 3.9) and He does not override our will. He could make us robots and we would not have any say in the matter, but He gave Adam a free will and He did the same for us.

I want us to look closely at this second phrase: “him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.” Over the years I have heard so many people make this statement: “How do I know that God will save me? Just asking seems so simple.” In Romans 10.13 we read: “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” That is as clear as God can make it.

But let’s think for a moment about the phrase, “I will in no wise cast out.” There is no need to worry whether or not we are going to do something that will cause God to be so angry with us that He puts us out of the family. In fact, as I have stated before, there is nothing we can do to make God love us more and there is nothing we can do to make God love us less. His unconditional love for us was clearly demonstrated at Calvary. No one ever came to God for salvation and heard Him say, “Your sin is too great. I can’t save you.” On the contrary, we read these words from Paul’s pen: “This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of who I am chief.” (1Timothy 1.15) The conclusion that you and I draw from this is simply that God is willing to take anyone who is willing to accept Christ’s payment for his sin. Every sinner qualifies. Not all sinners are willing to accept Christ’s payment. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

