This Is REAL Trust

In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” Psalm 56.4

When you read the phrase, “I will not fear what flesh can do unto me”, what comes to your mind? David certainly had occasion to fear flesh – especially when Saul wanted to kill him. So, what can we draw from this verse that will help US? David’s opening words give us the secret to not fearing what flesh can do to us.

In God I will praise his word … ” You may ask what does praising God have to do with overcoming fear of the flesh? We cannot, we will not, give praise to a powerless God. On the contrary, when we realize not just who our God is, but also come to understand His immensity and His power, praising Him is the natural by-product of KNOWING God in an intimate way. When Paul said in Philippians 3.10: “That I may know Him … ”, this word know is the same one used to describe a man knowing a woman in an intimate way. That is how we want to know God.

Now, David says: “ … in God I have put my trust … ” We exercise trust everyday in so many different ways. We walk into a room and sit on a chair that we trust. We flip a light switch because we trust the power company to supply the power. We get in our cars and start them, trusting it will take use where we want to go. So when it comes to trusting God, we need to use our trust in a greater degree because our ability to trust God more and more enables us to “not fear what flesh can do unto (us).” This is such a liberating place to be – knowing that God is worthy of our praise, is worthy of our trust, and is able to deliver us from whatever “flesh” may want to do to us. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

