Hang On – He’s There With You!

When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” Isaiah 43.2

       I don’t know when I have read greater words of encouragement than these. God’s promise of His presence with us in each of these circumstances ought to bring us great joy. I can’t count the number of times I have passed through the waters. We all know what that feels like. God says to us that He knows what the\at feels like and He will be with us. Many times, all we need is the encouragement that our God is there with us.

    “through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee … ” I don’t remember ever being in a fast-flowing river and feeling overwhelmed, but my imagination can envision great fear when one is in such a situation. You don’t know IF you can make it, or HOW you can make it, in light of your circumstances. God says to us, “I’ve got this!”

    This last one is a powerful picture: “when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” I remember as a child being in our apartment and the apartment under ours caught on fire. The fear for me was overwhelming. God doesn’t say, “If thou walkest through the fire” but rather, “when thou walkest through the fire”. Hang on – it is coming. But you don’t have to face it ALONE! God promises protection that can come from no other place but Him. Hallelujah! Just my thoughts …

Leave a comment