Let Your Love Be Real

“For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this; Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.” Galatians 5.14

In Matthew 22 Jesus spoke to the Pharisees and they asked Him, “Master, which is the great commandment inthe law? (37) Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. (38) This is the first and great commandment. (39) And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. (40) On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” This verse in Galatians is no “spur of the moment” idea that Paul writes.
I wonder how much thought each of us gives to this phrase, “ … love your neighbor as yourself.”? Loving our neighbors doesn’t mean leaving them alone until they need help. Loving our neighbors doesn’t mean waving as we see them outside and pass their house. We might start by knowing their names. We might move ahead by finding out their needs and praying for them. These are INTENTIONAL things and we do them on purpose, not by accident. One of the things I want to incorporate into my life are the things I have written here. I need God’s help to do this, but I am going to trust Him. Why not get on board with me and let’s see if God will let us change our neighbors – one at a time. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a comment