Who Is Your God – Really?

“O LORD, thou art my God; I will exalt thee, I will praise thy name; for thou hast done wonderful things; thy counsels of old are faithfulness and truth.” Isaiah 25.1

Isaiah makes a declarative statement in this verse: “O LORD, thou art my God …” That may not seem like much of a declaration to us, but Israel was in a constant state of flux when it came to worshiping Jehovah and worshiping idols. So, Isaiah sets the record straight: “you are MY God.” If someone was watching us in our daily routine, would they look at us and conclude that God was really OUR God? You say, “Of course!” But do we flirt with idolatry during the week and then try to put on a good image on Sunday?
Then Isaiah continues with: (1) “I will exalt thee”, and (2) “I will praise thy name …” How is God exalted in your life? What specific, intentional things do you do that exalt God? God is NEVER exalted in our lives accidentally. That only occurs when we give up exalting ourselves and make a plan to exalt God in our lives. Isaiah’s second statement says: “I will praise thy name … “ Again, praise is NEVER accidental but always something we do intentionally. Think through this past week and ask yourself, “How many times did I intentionally praise God?” Be honest with yourself.
Then Isaiah tells us WHY he has made these  two declarations: (1) you have done wonderful things; (2) your counsels of old are faithfulness and truth. The question is never, “Has God done wonderful things in my life?” but rather, “Have I RECOGNIZED the wonderful things God has done in my life?” We dare not stray from God’s counsels of “faithfulness and truth.” God’s faithfulness allows us to face the unknown with confidence because we KNOW He is already there. God’s truth allows us to recognize error when we hear it because we have been saturated with THE truth. These are just my thoughts …

Leave a comment